Friday, 29 May 2015

yo sushi's new menu for spring summer 2015.

Yo Sushi Review
Yo Sushi Leicester

From Japanese seabass ceviche to pumpkin katsu curry and yuzu cured salmon salad to beef curry ramen, Yo! Sushi have some exciting new additions to their 2015 menu. Yo! is hands down my favourite ever restaurant chain, making sushi more and more accessible to those who might not think (or dare) to usually try it. As the Highcross Yo! Sushi in Leicester has recently had a swanky face lift, I went along to see what it looked like. And of course, what everything tasted like.

Yo Sushi

Thursday, 28 May 2015

crunchie macarons.


Mixing my mum's favourite chocolate bar and my love for making homemade macarons - I created this Crunchie macaron recipe for her birthday. I made up a little wicker basket of a variety of treats to wear, to pamper, to craft... these of course were labelled "Eat me!"


Wednesday, 27 May 2015

abel & cole box review.

Abel and Cole
Abel and Cole Veg Box

For fresh fruit and vegetable boxes, Abel & Cole have got to be one of the most popular choices in the UK. I love scrolling through my Instagram feed seeing what other people have in their little boxes. Having found a brilliant introductory promo code, I thought I'd give them a go for a few weeks. It wasn't look before I was trying out their seafood offerings, fruit boxes and even a handful of complimentary treats from A&C themselves. I thought I'd put together a little review, for others who are thinking about getting their produce delivered to their door.

Monday, 25 May 2015

annie's burger shack, nottingham.


Found by the quirky Lace Market district of Nottingham, you'll discover an assortment of handcrafted burgers inspired by original American recipes. Annie's Burger Shack was opened in 2009 by Annie herself, a Rhode Island born lass who has a dedication to diners and penchant for the perfect burger. The Midlands brought around an interest in real ale and craft beers too; and so Annie's Burger Shack and Freehouse was born. 

Friday, 22 May 2015

clevedon hall, wedding and events venue, north somerset.

Clevedon Hall Wedding Venue
Clevedon Hall Venue Review

A little bit of luxury by the North Somerset coast. Clevedon Hall is predominately a wedding and events venue specialising in a bespoke experience to suit the occasion. From beautifully designed boutique bedrooms right through to unique gourmet creations, Clevedon Hall, nearby Bristol and Bath, mixes expertise on luxury hospitality with the individuality of the event from start to finish. 

Clevedon Hall Wedding Venue Review

Wednesday, 20 May 2015

coriander turkey kebabs with feta, quinoa & cous cous salad.


Although the weather hasn't been great since my latest picnic ideas, I'm determined to continue with the Spring Summer theme until that sun is back for good. Enter: a barbecue recipe challenge with Co-op Food. Mixing a great flavour combo of turkey and coriander, I made turkey kofta kebabs to go with a feta, cucumber, red onion, quinoa and cous cous salad.

Tuesday, 19 May 2015

myhotel, brighton.

myhotel Brighton Review

Set slap bang in the centre of Jubilee Square, you'll find a quirky and contemporary space to rest your head; myhotel in Brighton. I headed there for work a few weeks ago, which perfectly coincided with a Brighton blogger meet that weekend. More about that soon, for now I want to share this amazingly cooler than cool hotel.


myhotel Brighton

Monday, 18 May 2015

veggie no-sausage rolls.


A vegetarian answer to the classic sausage roll. I can't promise there won't be any less carbs, or that you won't want to eat five slices. What I can promise is that this is packed with quite a few veggies as well as smoked Applewood Cheddar cheese - one of my faves. Since the Summer is hopefully on its little way, I've been trying out a few picnic recipes for your pack up. So without further ado... veggie (no) sausage rolls.





Friday, 15 May 2015

plume of feathers, barlaston, staffordshire.

Plume Of Feathers Review

If you're looking for proper pub grub and a great beer selection in the Midlands, Plume of Feathers in Barlaston just might be the place. The latest business venture from actor and Stafford local Neil Morrissey, the pub takes on a best of British feel with atmosphere, decor and menu to match. We went for a sunny countryside drive and Sunday lunch over at the Plume of Feathers a few weekends back.

Plume of Feathers Barlaston
Plume of Feathers Menu

Wednesday, 13 May 2015

miso king prawn tempura.

King Prawn Tempura
Prawn Tempura Recipe

As a lovely little welcome to the Sainsbury's Food Blogger Community, the friendly lot sent me a parcel of products to play with. Guess what - it was Japanese themed. I was in my element! I've had a mini deep fat fryer for a while now, so had to get involved with homemade prawn tempura. By marinating the king prawns in miso paste, I create a miso prawn tempura recipe with a slight sweet and fruity flavour.

Monday, 11 May 2015

bill's, leicester.


Known for modern British cuisine at breakfast, lunch and dinner, the restaurant that seems to be appearing more and more up and down the country has finally come to Leicester. Bill's first began as an East Sussex green grocers before becoming a cafe and now the bustling restaurant business it is today. Over 15 years since Bill Collison's light bulb moment, you can still buy confectionary, drinks, chutneys, conserves, chocolates and gift hampers in their shop as well as dine from their vibrant menu.



Friday, 8 May 2015

why i love running + beets blu heart rate monitor review.

Running in Leicestershire
Keeping Fit

It's no secret, I'm fond of the odd cake or two. When I go out for a meal, I'll treat myself to the dish that most appeals to me without worrying about calories. If that happens to be a salad, that's cool. I love getting my five a day. But if I'm going to the latest diner opening - there's no way you're fighting that double cheeseburger and fries from my grasp. 

Luckily, I also love to run. I live in the Leicestershire countryside where there are long winding routes, challenging hills and beautiful landscapes. I like to think the two cancel each other out, as much as both activities make me happy. I love food and I love the countryside (except when it rains).

Wednesday, 6 May 2015

34 windsor st, burbage, leicestershire.

Windsor Bakewell Cocktail

Found in the lovely West Leicestershire village of Burbage is quite the little gem. Mixing elegant dining with innovative flair is 34 Windsor St restaurant and cocktail bar. Here you'll find an inspiring British menu, knowledgable and friendly staff and a few naughty signature cocktails. I started my Friday evening with a Windsor Bakewell, whilst I glanced over the menu and anticipated live music delights from soul singer Mellow Baku. 

34 Windsor Street Starter
34 Windsor Street Desserts


Tuesday, 5 May 2015

pesto salmon and kale wholemeal spaghetti.


A super simple dish which makes for a great evening meal. Packed with veggies, delicious pesto salmon and wholemeal spaghetti, this kale pasta dish is three of your five a day. Summer comfort food, if you will.

Monday, 4 May 2015

crafty st. martin's, leicester.

Crafty Burger Leicester Review

Serving up flavoursome burgers, tasty sides and local craft beers, it can only be Crafty in Leicester. Fairly new to the city's foodie scene, this week they moved from pop up concept to permanent space in independent coffee shop St. Martin's. A place for extraordinary coffee and cakes by day, on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings the quirky residence is converted into Crafty St. Martin's for local burger loving fiends.


Friday, 1 May 2015

bakewell tart pops.


No surprises here - it's another Bakewell tart recipe! From macarons to pancakes and Easter inspired creations to filo pastry, I've now happened upon Bakewell tart pops. Inspired by the classic cake pop, with a frangipane twist, a layer of thick icing sugar and a cherry on top. 

Bakewell Tart Pop Recipe