Wednesday, 30 September 2015

peppered mackerel spiralized salad.


There's no doubt that spiralizer recipes are huge these days. Courgette, cucumber and carrot - if it'll spiralize, it's probably been made into some form of gluten free zoodles, courghetti or vegetable ribbons. It's a great way to get that extra veg in a dish as well as switch out carbs for colour in dishes. Here I've combined cucumber, beetroot and pepper mackerel with my old favourite sesame seeds and soy sauce to create a simple Asian inspired spiralizer recipe. 


Monday, 28 September 2015

saka no hana, london.


Sake No Hana is a Japanese restaurant nearby London's St. James Park, which boasts market fresh seafood, a plethora of sushi and, unsurprisingly, a great sake list to accompany. I couldn't wait to treat my tastebuds to their variety of signature dishes, and so went for their five course Taste of Sake No Hana menu, which is accompanied by a bottle of sake to share for £29 a head.


Friday, 25 September 2015

ad hoc restaurant, rome.

Restaurant Ad Roc
Restaurant Ad Roc Rome Review 2015

When I said I was going to Rome, Ad Hoc restaurant was one of the first recommendations to come along. You only have to glance at their online reviews to see hundreds of people from around the world think the same. As well as their fantastic service and food, Ad Hoc is also known for its specialism in truffles, hosting special tasting sessions and a small tartufo shop. We booked a table online weeks in advance, looking forward to trying their Roman inspired tasting menu, which is €79 a head with accompanying wine.


Ad Hoc Rome Restaurant Review

Wednesday, 23 September 2015

the mindful eating challenge.

The Mindful Eating Challenge

Rainbow food, colourful creations and vibrant greens. Eating healthy doesn't have to be boring. Flick through Instagram and you'll see reams and reams of inviting seasonal salads, avocado worship and that deliciously gooey cake that you can't quite believe is sugar free. 


Vegetarain Recipes

Whether you're getting creative with kale or perfecting your matcha green tea latte, there's no doubt healthy recipes are the new black (or green). With this in mind, Joe's Bloggers put us food bloggers to the test with The Mindfulness Eating Challenge. Think; healthier food choices, thinking about where your dinner came from, less processed food and making recipes from scratch. 


Monday, 21 September 2015

vegetarian and gluten free lasagne.


A hearty but low carb lasagne which is both vegetarian and gluten free. Switching the lasgane sheets for sliced courgette and packing with lots of veggies and quinoa, this was a perfect indulgent Friday night in dish - with a few of your five a day too. And cheese, lots of cheese.

Friday, 18 September 2015

britain's best sirloin steak at the parcel yard, leicester.


Part of the The Steamin' Billy brewery,The Parcel Yard in Leicester has been making its name in craft beers and cocktails for some time now. Offering up the likes of Thornbridge, Thwaits, Mordue and their very own 1485 Return of the King, it's a great place, right by the rail station, to meet up before catching your train home.

The Parcel Yard itself takes its name from the building’s former purpose as a sorting office and parcel yard for British Rail. It's a pretty cool and quirky place with high back armchairs, stacked up books and bowler hat lampshades. You'll find the well stocked bar at the front of the establishment, with their candlelit restaurant at the back - take your pick. 

As well as their impressive drinks menu, it's also becoming a foodie destination too, with UK Burger Battle and Praise to the Pork to name just a few events. This week saw the celebration of England's Best Sirloin Steak Winner, launching a menu to show off the Owen Taylor & Sons produce. 


Wednesday, 16 September 2015

psl macarons.

Pumpkin Spiced Latte Macarons

Hello September, I'm starting to kinda like you. The evenings may be getting darker and my house a little colder, but I've remembered that's an excuse to make warming one pot meals and start on some Autumn baking. Oh, and the PSL. How could I forget? Pumpkin spice lattes have to be one of the best things about September. So naturally I had to make a macaron out of them.

PSL Macaron Recipe

Tuesday, 15 September 2015

cherry bakewell blondies.


Here we go again, another Bakewell tart inspired recipe. This time blondies, and gluten free blondies at that. This recipe combines an almond based blondie recipe, almond essence, glace cherries and white chocolate chunks for good measure. Bake ahead of time for this one, since they're extra gooey when cooled down and sliced. If you like Bakewells and frangipane, you're going to love these. I dare you not to lick the bowl.

Sunday, 13 September 2015

24 glorious gluten free recipes.


Today marks National Coeliac Awareness Day - September 13th. With so many fantastic bakes, sweet treats and delicious dishes from fellow food bloggers, I thought it was about time I put together a round up of gluten free recipes. I have a few friends and family who live with coeliac disease, and am always keen to see restaurants putting alternatives on their menu too. 

It was also great that GBBO did a free from episode this year, which raised awareness of sugar free, dairy free and wheat free baking. So from desserts and cakes right through to pizzas and muffins - here are 24 sweet and savoury gluten free recipes to enjoy!

Saturday, 12 September 2015

no churn oreo ice cream.

No Churn Oreo Ice Cream Recipe
Easy Oreo Ice Cream Recipe

A super easy peanut butter Oreo ice cream recipe, whipped up into a sundae and drizzled with chocolate. Oh, and with more peanut butter Oreos scattered on top. Some might say dangerously easy. Simply take this no churn ice cream, fold in mouthwatering peanut butter and their new flavour Oreos and freeze overnight. It's as easy as 1, 2... oh I've eaten it.

Peanut Butter Oreo Ice Cream Recipe

I have received product from Oreo for this post. It is an entry to the Foodies100 Wonderfilled recipe challenge sponsored by Oreo, which marks the launch of two exciting new flavours: Peanut Butter and Golden. The delicious new flavours are available in all major supermarkets at an RRP of £1.08. To find out more, visit www.facebook.com/oreo...

Friday, 11 September 2015

afternoon tea at stoke rochford hall, grantham, lincolnshire.

Stoke Rochford Hall Afternoon Tea Review
Stoke Rochford Hall Desserts

Found in the Lincolnshire countryside, Stoke Rochford Hall instantly strikes you with its regal structure and inviting doorway. Having stayed and dined at Stoke Rochford Hall, near Grantham, earlier this year, I was eager to see what their afternoon tea menu had to offer. 

Stoke Rochford Hall Menu

The once bouncing lambs from my visit in March were now happy sheep lining the long, winding pathway. Plush greenery surrounds the hall itself, as well as a well kept garden and nearby golf course. Inside you'll find leather chairs, welcoming fireplaces, colourful Beauty and the Beast style library and airy conservatory. If that doesn't tick wedding venue boxes, I don't know what does. 


Wednesday, 9 September 2015

macarons: an illustrated guide.

Macarons, macarons, macarons. I may have gone a bit macaron mad. As well as food blogging, searching out the best sushi and Instagram-ing my breakfast, I also love to play around with illustrations. So I thought I'd put the two together and create this recipe guide to making the tiny treats. 

Macaron Recipe Guide

What do you think? Would you try your hand at macarons with French meringue now or maybe you've got some tips to share too? I'd love to know your thoughts on my illustrated infographic approach too. I've written a recipe tutorial before but it is pretty lengthy and picture heavy!

Now you've mastered the basics, you can find my macaron recipes on my blog, as well as vegan macarons with chickpea liquid instead of egg whites. Enjoy!

PS, Feel free to share my guide but please credit back to my blog!

Monday, 7 September 2015

le bistrot pierre, derby.


Found along Friargate, Le Bistrot Pierre in Derby brings a passionate approach to French cuisine and flavour combinations. Originating from the bustling streets of Paris, the traditional bistrot, or bisto, begun serving French homespun classics in a welcoming environment. Of course, with an impressive wine list to boot. With their homely designs, old French adverts lining the walls and a deep colour palette lit by candlelight throughout, Le Bistrot Pierre definitely have the decor down. Their love of food shines through on the menu too, with particular dishes hailing from certain regions of France. 


Friday, 4 September 2015

tapas dinner party.


I’ve grown rather fond of dinner parties of late. So far I’ve had a go at Japanese themed night, a sushi making evening, Mexican nights, a vegan friendly evening and lots of homemade pasta production lines - ending up with tasty rewards. The latest on my list is a tapas dinner party, complete with tiny plates of Spanish inspired treats and a steady flow of sangria. Rounding up of course, with homemade churros for dessert.



Wednesday, 2 September 2015

deliveroo leaps to leicester.


Bringing tasty takeaway dishes direct to your door, Deliveroo is taking over our UK cities one delivery at a time. Their mission is to simplify the takeaway, with a well researched host of fantastic quality restaurants ready for any occasion. It's not just for Friday night takeaways over Netflix either. If you're looking for picnic in the park, grub for a gathering or munch over a meeting, they've got you covered.

Luckily for Leicester folk, they've recently set up shop in Leicester too. With Nottingham already established and Derby on the way, Deliveroo is really getting the East Midlands talking about their premium takeaways. So, if you're perusing the Leicester offerings and wondering what to try next, here are a few of my personal favourites to get you started...


Tuesday, 1 September 2015

19 things food bloggers will understand.


The stash of Kilner jars, the pursuit for the perfectly gooey egg and the endless Post-Its decorating your cookery book stack. Sound familiar? Me too. Here are nineteen things that the seasoned food blogger is all too well acquainted with. 

Now, have you Instagram-ed your dinner yet? Are you sitting comfortably with a stripy straw in your drink? Okay, then let's begin.