Friday, 29 January 2016

meet & eat at the orange tree supper club, leicester.

The Orange Tree Supper Club

Meet & Eat at The Orange Tree is a new Leicester based supper club with a difference. Those who are familiar with The Orange Tree will recognise its relaxed vibe and independent charm through mismatched furniture, local art and stacks of board games. With such a laid back atmosphere, you'd be forgiven for thinking the private dining area was that of someone's living room. For that reason it made the perfect location for a Leicester supper club - complete with likeminded foodie folk and locally sourced food.

The Orange Tree Supper Club Review

Wednesday, 27 January 2016

the food market: gourmet eats and foodie treats to your door.

The Food Market Review

TheFoodMarket.com is a bustling online marketplace for foodies. Brimming with independent small companies and family businesses, here you'll find an array of foodie treats perfect for gifts - or for yourself! A place after my own heart, they describe themselves as fussy, in a good way. Browsing the site I can be assured that all the products have high quality natural ingredients and have been responsibly sourced - no nasties to be found here. They also have some really unusual products (seaweed gin anyone?) that will impress even the most seasoned of foodies. 

The lovely lot over at TheFoodMarket.com asked if I'd like to give the products a whirl, as well as host a rather cheesy giveaway for you guys too. 

The Food Market Cheese Online
The Food Market UK Review

Monday, 25 January 2016

ox pasture hall, scarborough.


Set in the photogenic Scarborough countryside, Ox Pasture Hall is a luxury Yorkshire hotel and Michelin recommended restaurant serving inspiring modern dishes, created from locally sourced ingredients. The general philosophy behind the menu is traditional Yorkshire food at its best, and I couldn't wait to get stuck in. We were also invited to stay in one of their premium suites, which boasted comfort mixed with the contemporary.


Friday, 22 January 2016

48 hours in liverpool.


A few foodie days in Liverpool, a couple to be exact. With Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand as our base for our staycation, I jam packed lots of food related adventures (and some not so foodie) for us to do during our stay. Every food blogger knows it's impossible to go anywhere without a little bit of Twitter research. So from secret bars and sushi platters to pork chop sandwiches and pretty cocktails, hopefully there's something for everyone in my little guide.


Wednesday, 20 January 2016

orchard martini mocktail.


Giving up alcohol for Dry January? Missing your favourite wine, the occasional G&T and not to mention those cocktails from back in December? Well, who said mocktails had to be boring anyway? With inspiration from thebar’s non alcoholic mocktail recipes, I’ve put my own spin on their English countryside inspired Orchard Mist to create my very own Orchard Martini. With the original recipe featuring pear and elderflower, I’ve opted for apple juice, elderflower and honey to sweeten up this rather British medley.


Monday, 18 January 2016

slim's pork chop express, liverpool.

Slim's Pork Chop Express Liverpool
Slim's Pork Chop Express Liverpool Review

Yet another utterly cool dining venue in Liverpool - Slim's Pork Chop Express. Inspired by the owners' enthusiasm with the film Big Trouble in Little China, you'll find subtle (and not so subtle) hints to the film itself. Found just a short walk away from indie-friendly Bold Street on Seel Street, the black exterior is lit up with modern neon lights in the shape of a pig and cow - you'll know you've found it! The menu focuses on the whole pork chop sandwich idea, with big smokes, low and slow cooked meats, pimped out fries and craft beers to go alongside.

Slim's Pork Chop Express

Friday, 15 January 2016

mister miyagi, bold street, liverpool.

Miyagi Liverpool
Miyagi Menu

Mister Miyagi, also known as simply Miyagi, is a Japanese inspired gem that you'll find amongst the bustling independents of Liverpool's Bold Street. Always keen to track down an Asian restaurant whilst on my UK travels, the same name kept coming up upon asking for Liverpool Twitter recommendations. With a menu boasting the likes of steamed buns, sushi and gyoza, I knew that I had to try it out. It was a tough choice decided what Oriental treats to choose from this Japanese restaurant's menu, but someone had to do it.


Miyagi  Bold Street Review


Wednesday, 13 January 2016

maray, liverpool.

Maray Bold Street Liverpool
Maray Bold Street Review

Maray on Bold Street, Liverpool, is a cool and contemporary restaurant which celebrates small seasonal plates to share. With an emphasis on the social element of food, you can pick and choose from vegetarian, seafood, meat, vegan, gluten free, snacks and sides to create your own feast. 

Monday, 11 January 2016

chilli & sesame chips.

Sesame Chips Recipe
Chilli Sesame Chips Recipe

An Asian inspired take on the beloved potato chip. These rustic baked chips have an extra crispiness from the sesame seeds, sea salt and chilli flakes. Not forgetting the ultimate dip - a medley of mayo and soy sauce. My new favourite snacking food on its own as well as alongside teriyaki dishes, Chinese style seafood, Asian vegetables or marinated skewers. These are dangerously easy to make...

Friday, 8 January 2016

afternoon tea at betty's, harrogate.

Afternoon Tea Betty's Harrogate Review

If you mention York or Harrogate to any foodie, I'd be surprised if the following conversation doesn't begin with Betty's. Having ventured to Betty's in York a year or so ago, I was treated to a surprise afternoon tea at Betty's for my birthday. As soon as we arrived in Harrogate I was hoping that we'd stop by, so an experience of Lady Betty Afternoon Tea in the grand room was very well received.

Afternoon Tea Lady Betty's Harrogate

Wednesday, 6 January 2016

riverford vegetarian box: a review.


Founded in 1987, Riverford is passionate about organic fruit and vegetables which are both fresh and seasonal. With humble roots in Devon which have now grown to serving almost 50,000 boxes a week to the UK, Riverford works with regional farms to keep the environment happy too. With so many recipe boxes and fruit and vegetable deliveries on offer these days, it's hard to know which to go for. I tried out one of their award winning vegetarian recipe boxes (£33.95 for three recipes) to see what it was all about. 


Monday, 4 January 2016

dine, shop, play and stay at resorts world birmingham.

Resorts World Birmingham

Imagine being able to shop 'til you drop, dine in some fantastic restaurants, watch a film, drink cocktails in a rooftop bar and rest your head all in one place. You don't even have to venture outside, unless you want to look at the views from the Sky Bar that is. Sounds like somewhere in the capital, right? I was introduced to Resorts World in Birmingham a couple of weeks ago and still can't believe this hidden gem was just off the A42 near the NEC.

Resorts World Birmingham Review Robata Grill
Resorts World Birmingham Hotel Review

Friday, 1 January 2016

happy 5th birthday to recipes and reviews!


Happy New Year! I hope you had a fantastic New Year's Eve which was full of friends, family, fun and fizz. I enjoyed a quiet night in this year, dining on fillet steak, shaking up homemade cocktails and playing games. 

As January 2016 rolls around, with it comes another anniversary for Emily's Recipes and Reviews. I can't quite believe that my little food blog is now five! And what better excuse to make this lemon, poppy seed and raspberry cake?!