Friday, 29 April 2016

double chocolate & hazelnut wafer cheesecake.

Chocolate Wafer Cheesecake

Introducing a delicious new product all the way from the Slovakia; the Lusette chocolate wafer. Coming very soon to the UK via Halusky, this indulgent treat comes in the form of Hazelnut, Nougat, Lusette Milk and Lusette Chocolate. The dreamy flavours, which can be enjoyed as a teatime treat or part of a baking recipe, are a whole 50g of chocolatey covered biscuit bar which melts in the mouth with a crunch of wafer.

My favourite was instantly the hazelnut, inspiring me to come up with a recipe with this flavour as the star. This double chocolate no bake cheesecake uses the hazelnut wafers a base, with a luxurious chocolate cream cheese topping and is finished with scatterings of milk, chocolate and hazelnut wafers.Not before a drizzle of milk chocolate, of course. And not an oven in sight either! Chocolate lovers, this one is for you.

No Bake Chocolate Wafer Cheesecake
Chocolate Cheesecake UK

Wednesday, 27 April 2016

the craftmen's dinner: michel roux jr meets ridgeview winery.


The Craftsmen’s Dinner is a short film series perfect for food lovers and those who appreciate craftsmanship and the artisan. Starring Michel Roux Jr, each of the six films takes your on a foodie journey through the nation's ‘masters of craft’ within their respective fields. From smoked salmon to knife makers, the videos have been created in partnership with The Balvenie whisky to embrace Britain's best artistry.

In the latest episode of the series, Michel Roux Jr meets Simon Ridgeview of leading wine makers Ridgeview Wines based in Sussex. One of the foremost producers of English sparkling wines, Michel is keen to see how English sparkling wine measures up against French Champagne.


Monday, 25 April 2016

boston tea party, stratford-upon-avon.


First established in Bristol and the South West of England, Boston Tea Party is a quirky establishment that prides itself on brunches, homemade cakes, fresh juices and an extensive tea and coffee offerings. Often found in restored buildings, BTP are a chain with an independent feel. 

There's a map of Stratford upon Avon, higgledy-piggledy upholstery and the original features make up part of the restaurant's design. Before our trip to The Cotswolds, Stratford upon Avon made an ideal middle point for our drive. A charming part of the world and a hundred times better than a service station, in my opinion.


Friday, 22 April 2016

homemade secret vegetable salsa.


A homemade salsa recipe made with secret vegetables - perfect for tricking those fussy eaters! Featuring a medley of fresh tomatoes, carrot, red pepper and coriander with a chilly kick, this mouthwatering dip is great for turning around those veggie haters. Chips of course are a little bit naughty, but it's nice to know that the dip you're plunging into is full of goodness.

I'm now excited to be part of the Froothie community, and as a brand ambassador I've been giving the Optimum G.21 Platinum Series Blender a whirl. There's just so much you can do with it, so I'm excited to share some recipes I create along the way! From smoothies to nut butters and juices to dips, as well as soups, spreads and ice cream, I can't wait to get started. They retail at RRP £599 although at the moment are on offer at £429. With further ado, on to the recipe... 


Shopping list. 
(Makes a generous dip bowl amount!)
♥ Three salad tomatoes
♥ One red pepper
♥ One carrot
♥ Handful of fresh coriander, plus extra to garnish
♥ 2 tsp paprika
♥ 1 tsp cayenne pepper
♥ 1 tsp chill flakes
♥ 1/2 tsp sugar
♥ Salt and pepper to taste

Step one. Simply whizz together all the ingredients except the flesh of one tomato.

Step two. If you light a slightly chunky dip, chop up the remaining tomato and stir through.

This is so that the carrot and red pepper are well and truly hidden but since the blender is so powerful you might want to add a little subtle texture back in. It really does make amazingly smooth drips!

Step three. Season to taste and garnish with chopped coriander. Don't forget the tortilla chips!


In collaboration with Froothie

Wednesday, 20 April 2016

the falcon, painswick, gloucs.


Nestled in the Gloucestershire part of The Cotswolds, you'll find the quaint town of Painswick. The Falcon, just opposite Painswick church is a welcoming bed, breakfast and restaurant with gorgeously green views of the rolling hills of Gloucestershire. Famously known for the town's yew trees and Rococo Garden, The Falcon makes for the perfect base for walkers, countryside lovers and seekers of good old peace and quiet. It's a friendly but tranquil place, which boasts a fantastic menu in a cosy environment.


Monday, 18 April 2016

carrot cake pops.

Carrot Cake Pops
Carrot Cake Pops Recipe

The second sweet instalment in my collaboration with Betty Crocker. Their latest campaign #ICAKEYOU is all about baking for friends and family whether it be a special occasion or just because. Even if you're not the most confident of bakers, it's more about using their mixes to create something to show you care. I've taken their classic carrot cake mix as a baseto whip up some super easy carrot cake pops. Topped with their indulgent cream cheese frosting and some honey glazed walnuts; meet a mini carrot cake treat on a stick! I made these for a girly night in with a few of my old school friends; one brought the wine, another made dinner and I provided the cake!

Carrot Cake Pop
Carrot Cake Pops Betty Crocker

Friday, 15 April 2016

the butchers bar and steakhouse, long eaton.


When a restaurant's tagline is "because meat matters," you know they they're serious about their steak. Found in the unlikely location of Long Eaton, the restored Victorian mill makes for a quirky restaurant and the perfect industrial inspired setting for a modern steak house. Second to the steak, The Butchers Bar and Steakhouse are all about the cocktails. There's a super cool bar area where the usual suspects can be muddled together. Or you can make your way to the restaurant to oggle at their mouthwatering menu.


Wednesday, 13 April 2016

peanut m&m brownies.

Brownie recipes

When life gives you peanut M&Ms, make brownies. These chocolatey treats are made from my favourite basic brownie recipe with added yumminess. It uses ground almonds which not only makes them gluten free, but also adds a certain nuttiness to the final flavour. You can add any of your favourite sweets really but I just love peanut M&Ms here - making for tiny treats as you munch your way through the brownie. Gooey on the inside, with a chocolate crust on the outside. As brownies should be, in my opinion.

Gluten free m&m brownies

Monday, 11 April 2016

#breakforcake with mr. kipling's exceedlingly good slices + giveaway.

Mr Kipling Oat Slices
Mr Kipling Oat Slices UK Review

From their candy pink angel slices to lovely lemon French fancies, everyone knows Mr Kipling for their exceedingly good cakes. Pretty pastels, carefully piped icing, sticky jam and bitesize sweet treats spring to mind when I think of the classic British brand. Although my favourite ever pud, it turns out that you can't live on Bakewell tarts alone. (I know, right?) 

With that in mind, Mr Kipling have launched a lighter snack offering to their miniature family. Introducing the Cranberry, Orange & Oat Slice and Dark Chocolate, Coconut & Oat Slices; featuring 100% natural flavours, no hydrogenated fats or artificial flavours. Individually wrapped into perfectly portioned snack packs, the slices cost £1.49 per pack of four. 

Friday, 8 April 2016

charlotte's, w5, london.

Charlottes W5 London

Charlotte's W5 is the new kid on the block amongst the other London eating establishments of the same name. Unsurprisingly found in the W5 district of Ealing, the baby sister of the Charlotte's group serves up brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails between the sandy walls of an old stable block. Depending what time of day you go, you might find business meets over breakfast, ladies what lunch or cocktail connoisseurs lining the bar. The cheeseboard is on all day every day, which is good with me.

Charlottes W5 London Tea
Charlottes W5 London Brunch

Wednesday, 6 April 2016

the fox and goat, tiddington, oxfordshire.


Just a short drive from the historic city of Oxford, you'll discover The Fox and Goat. An endearing village pub nearby Tiddington, Albury and Waterstock, both the restaurant and rooms have been beautifully refurbished with a charming finish that mixes classic and contemporary. Cosy fireplaces and exposed brick are met with hints of olive green, fresh flowers and natural wood to create a home from home feel. After a sunny day in Oxford, we made our way along the A418 to be warmly welcomed by The Fox and Goat staff.



Monday, 4 April 2016

slow cooked beef with gnocchi.


A wholesome, comforting beef recipe which is super simple to make and won't break the bank either. This season, Red Tractor and Simply Beef & Lamb are leading the #LivePeasant campaign to encourage every day home cooks to embrace a more simple, rustic approach to cooking. Stew and casserole recipes are at the heart of the campaign, making affordable cuts of beef and lamb tender and tasty using traditional one-pot methods. 

This slow cooked beef recipe is teamed with warming cinnamon, spicy cayenne pepper and smoky paprika before being stirred through with gnocchi and topped with fresh parsley. Just perfect!


Friday, 1 April 2016

sherwood hideaway, nottinghamshire.


For a weekend of adventure, beautiful nature and an escape from the day-to-day, Sherwood Hideaway ticks all the boxes. Surrounded by the pines of Sherwood Forest, you'll find a scattering of luxury lodges nestled amongst the Nottinghamshire nature. With the nearby 17th Century Thoresby Estate, cycle paths and walking routes, you can really make your break at Sherwood Hideaway suit you.


Whether you're into spa days or tree climbing, you'll find something to do. If you want to switch off your phone and unwind in the jacuzzi, that's fine too. Being a foodie, I couldn't help putting a foodie spin on our stay, making sure I'd packed lots of delicious grub to enjoy in our Woodland Rustic lodge. Because it turns out relaxing amongst nature with a fully stocked fridge and lack of 4G is absolute bliss.