Monday, 31 August 2015

peanut butter vegan macarons.

Vegan Macarons
Vegan Macaron Recipe

It's no secret, macarons have become a baking favourite of mine. So why shouldn't vegans get to enjoy them too? After finding out you can make eggless meringue using chickpea liquid, also known as aquafaba, I just had to give it a go. I've seen a lot of recipes using cups as measurement, however I've created a UK friendly version using metric grams and ml. Here of course I've filled my vegan macarons with peanut butter - a firm egg and dairy free favourite - but the possibilities are endless!

Friday, 28 August 2015

oaks, nottingham.


Serving up lip-smacking homemade sausages and an array of inspired meat and fish combinations, OAKS in Nottingham showcases a modern menu that has been smoked by natural wood embers. Their impressive custom built grill has been stocked with wood from the Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust, which has been sustainably sourced as a natural byproduct of coppicing.


The smoky scent of embers swirls around you as you enter the restaurant, which is further decorated with natural timber with hints of industrial metallics. Seating is cosy and communal but really well spaced out, with an inviting central table lit up with quirky bulbs and hanging candles. 


Wednesday, 26 August 2015

pizza macarons.


Mamma mia! Continuing with the junk food macaron recipe theme, I thought I'd try my hand at mini pizza macarons. With a sweet jammy filling, a vivid red icing base and scatterings of sprinkles, these sugary treats couldn't be further than the savoury snack. 


Monday, 24 August 2015

cherry old fashioned cocktail.


A drink that leaves you as cool as Don Draper after nailing a million dollar pitch. Having recently taken to watching the suave 1960s set series of Mad Men, the idea of muddling up an Old Fashioned couldn't be more appealing. Take your favourite whiskey, stir up sugar cube and bitters (in a sophisticated fashion, of course) and serve ice cold. A fancy short glass is a must.


When The Bar got in touch about trying out, or putting my own spin on their cocktails, I instantly reached for their Old Fashioned recipe. Traditionally made with angostura bitters, I switched up their timeless medley with my favourite flavour of cherry. By using a tangy and sour cherry bitters instead, this recipe is a tad sweeter with the same whiskey kick. Serve on ice in a short tumbler, garnished with a retro cherry and orange peel curl.

Friday, 21 August 2015

marley spoon recipe box review.


Creating great recipes and delivering them conveniently to you door. That’s what Marley Spoon do best. Joining the meal box revolution, the British based brand sources market-fresh ingredients and creates chef designed recipes to inspire the newbie cook.

In the spirit of Summer, they kindly sent me a few of their new BBQ recipes to try. Having seen them featured in delicious and Olive magazines, I couldn’t wait to get my pinny on and try them out.

Thursday, 20 August 2015

#trymymenu: a taste of italy.


Inspired by my recent trip to Rome, I recreated my favourite flavours in the form of a three course Italian menu. With StressFreePrint on hand to print out my very own illustrated menu designs, I opted for Italian simplicity for a stress free dinner party. With classic (and super simple) bruschetta to start, I went on to serve my Rome bought trofie pasta along with truffle butter from Ad Hoc. To finish, I tried my hand at making timeless tiramisu, which is perfect to prepare ahead for dinner party desserts!



Wednesday, 19 August 2015

crispy duck wraps with chocolate hoisin sauce.


One of my favourite Chinese recipes - crispy roast duck with sticky hoisin sauce and crunchy spring onions and cucumber. Except here's the twist. Since dark chocolate is said to enhance savoury flavours in the likes of chilli con carne, bolognese and barbecue sauce, I thought I'd give it a whirl in hoisin. It turns out that the sweet tang and salty soy goes perfectly with 80% cocoa solids found in Lindt dark chocolate. It definitely adds an extra something something.



Monday, 17 August 2015

tanya's, chelsea, london.


Celebrating all things raw, Tanya's menu features the likes of superfood salads, green juices and plant based puds across three London locations. Proud to serve up organic, raw living dishes, that are all free from gluten, dairy and refined sugar, I was intrigued as to how they could make dessert look this good. Meeting up with my food blogger pal Sophie Loves Food, we thought we'd catch up over a couple of matcha lattes and lunch to discover what Tanya's in Chelsea was all about.


Sunday, 16 August 2015

#fdbloggers: get to know.


Oh how I love the #fdbloggers community. Because what's food blogging when you can't chat to others about your last meal, new favourite plate or recent foodie blunders?

Don't underestimate the amount of times you can Instagram an avocado, perfect the ultimate soft boiled egg shot or get the right angles on that buttercream. Never again will you (or any of your friends or family) eat food hot again. Sounds lots of fun, yes? Head over to the #fdbloggers Twitter hashtag and you'll see I'm right!

I was recently tagged by brilliant baker Mike over at The Bearded Bakery and lovely Megan of Got To be Gourmet in the latest #fdbloggersgtk so thought I'd better put my piping bag down and get to it...

Friday, 14 August 2015

the real greek, st. martin's lane, london.

The Real Greek Menu Review
The Real Greek Restaurant Review

Serving up the likes of moreish melitzanosalata, delectable dolmades and hearty herby gigantes plaki, you'll find The Real Greek in nine locations across London. From taramasalata to tzatziki, here you can find recognisable Grecian dishes right through to daring delicacies - of course washed down with a glass of Greek wine or a shot of cheeky Ouzo! 

I went along to the St. Martin's Lane restaurant, by bustling Leicester Square, to sample a few tiers of their famous meze platters. 

The Real Greek St Martin's Lane London

Wednesday, 12 August 2015

amaretti biscuit chocolate tarts.


Tiny, little, mini chocolate tarts. Made from a rich 80% Lindt dark chocolate ganache and topped with white chocolate curls and an amaretti biscuit crunch. To celebrate National Afternoon Tea Week (best week ever!) I went over to fellow blogger Amelia's home to drink lots of tea, scoff lots of sarnies and eat lots of cake. Any excuse, hey? 

You can find her whole DIY afternoon tea post over on her lovely lifestyleblog, but for now here's my recipe for my addition to the cakey party. What's more - they're super speedy to whip up and you can change the topping to your liking!

Monday, 10 August 2015

mini lemon, poppy seed and blueberry muffins.


We're celebrating seasonal British berries on the blog today, in the form of a lovely little lemon, poppy seed and blueberry muffin recipe. These tiny bites of sunshine are the perfect Summer treat - mixing a refreshing zing of lemon with bursts of blueberry and poppy seeds. 

Saturday, 8 August 2015

summer at bill's restaurant.


Another season brings a fresh and new menu from Bill's. I went along to the thriving Leicester restaurant to see what was new for Summer. Bill's is known for creating twists on classic recipes, with great flavour combinations that was accessible to all tastes. Roll on the Summer menu...


Wednesday, 5 August 2015

sushi & sashimi workshop at billingsgate seafood school, london.


A few weekends ago, I went down to London for a rather special cookery class - a sashimi and sushi workshop at the famous Billingsgate Seafood School. Although I suppose no cooking was to be involved for this one; instead we were led by talented sushi chef Silla Bjerrum through lessons in handling and sourcing seafood, flavour combinations, how to roll and all important knife skills. I couldn't wait to get started...


Monday, 3 August 2015

mextrade mexican night + giveaway!


As you may know, I love a chance to host a themed night! I've been to known to enjoy a loaded bowl of nachos with a slow cooked chilli and lime infused rice - who wouldn't? So when the lovely lot at Mextrade sent me a selection of their spicy goodies, it made perfect sense to whip up some guacamole and get those Coronas in the fridge!