Friday, 30 October 2015

autumn at las iguanas, leicester.

Las Iguanas Leicester Review

Live Latin. This is the philosophy of Las Iguanas through and through. Inspired by Latin American culture and cuisine, you may know Las Iguanas brings a largely Mexican and Brazilian influenced menu packed with personality and flavour. With native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African inspiration too.

Las Iguanas Cocktails
Las Iguanas Autumn 2015 Menu

Now with many restaurants now across the UK. the restaurant haven't lost touch with their roots; still bringing carefully sourced ingredients and authentic recipes to our British tables. To cooincide with their new Autumn offerings, I went along to my Leicester branch to try out the latest menu.

Wednesday, 28 October 2015

the botanist, birmingham.

The Botanist Cocktails Menu
The Botanist Birmingham Review

Found nearby Birmingham cathedral and square, The Botanist on Temple Street has soon become known for its plethora of cocktails, quirky tableware and its trademarked hanging kebabs. Part of the eccentric New World Trading Co. the Birmingham offering continues the whimsical theme with a dash of inspiration from all things horticultural. 

Tuesday, 27 October 2015

patisserie in paris: my favourite food experiences from my travels.


Have you ever indulged in a dish that you just can't stop daydreaming about? Pasta that you can't stop preaching about? A cocktail that you can't get out of your mind? Or perhaps a pudding that you would hop on a plane for?


When Travelbag asked me that same question, thoughts of my favourite dinners, drinks and desserts from my travels swirled through my mind. Boy, I was suddenly very hungry. Would it be the fresh ravioli from Malta, that infamous 3 Euro pizza in Rome the delectable dim sum I devoured in Hong Kong or the stunning seafood in Sydney? Then I remembered Angelina - the picture perfect patisserie in Paris.

Monday, 26 October 2015

soften up the colder mornings with belvita soft bakes.


The clocks have officially gone back and Autumn has begun. No more wishing for an unexpected September heatwave - let's dig out our cable knits and embrace the season in all its chilly glory. I for one have already invested in my Autumn coat and am sporting my favourite tartan scarf. The clocks going back is always a nostalgic one for me, since it bring back memories of my birthday being just around the corner. (Hint hint, it's November 8th...) 

Luckily for us, belVita have made getting up on our first dark October morning that little bit easier with their new flavours of Soft Bakes. With a choice of Red Berries or Golden Grain, I'll certainly be digging into mine this morning with a piping hot mug of pumpkin spice latte

Friday, 23 October 2015

afternoon tea at binswood hall, leamington spa, warwickshire.


When first saw the beautiful Binswood Hall online, I presumed I'd search for the postcode and find it deep in the Warwickshire countryside. The Grade II listed Victorian Gothic building has been newly renovated into a luxury retirement village as well as the new Whittles bistro restaurant which hosts afternoon tea. I don't know about you, but it sounds exactly like the sort of place I want to retire. 

Despite it's British country house feel, Binswood Hall is just a ten minute walk from the centre of Leamington Spa, a gorgeous midlands spa town which I've fallen in love with. Pottering around cute homeware shops before heading for afternoon tea in a listed building? Don't mind if I do.


Wednesday, 21 October 2015

homemade pumpkin spice syrup.

Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte Syrup

We're fully into Autumn now, and I'm loving it. Autumn for me means cosy nights in, my birthday month, an excuse to buy a new coat... and of course pumpkin spice lattes. I've already made PSL macarons so the obsession is loud and clear (PSL and macarons that is). So I've taken it upon myself to make some homemade pumpkin spice syrup and bottle it up for when those red cups make an appearance. Pumpkin spice forever.

Pumpkin Spice Syrup Recipe

Monday, 19 October 2015

vote for me: cosmo blog awards 2015.

Cosmo Blog Awards 2015 - Food Bloggers

Just a little note to say that I've made the shortlist in the Best Food Blogger category in the Cosmo Blog Awards 2015. I can hardly believe it! As you can imagine I'm super thrilled - and all thanks to you lovely lot for your nominations. Thanks for sticking by me whilst I continue my macaron and sushi obsession for the online world to see.

Mostly I can't wait to go to the awards in London next month. I'm in fantastic company of some of my favourite bloggers so it's set to be a fun night from the off. Plus it's sponsored by Blossom Hill... *hic*

If you enjoy reading my recipes and reviews and think I deserve to be in with a chance of winning, I'd really appreciate your vote here. (I even put some red lippy on and changed my polkadot dress to celebrate...)

Sending you lots of cake emojis and heart eyes,

Emily x

Sunday, 18 October 2015

make it my way: giovanni rana.


Introducing the newest sauce to the Giovanni Rana collection; a rustic Simply Italian Butter and Sage Sauce. A sauce that goes particularly well with mushrooms and Autumnal flavours, yet the simple and subtle flavouring means you can play around with different dishes to create totally different results. I was tasked with developing three dishes, made my way, to showcase the stunning sauce in a variety of ways. 


Friday, 16 October 2015

national seafood week at yo! sushi.


This week, you'll probably have seen the delicious seafood recipe inspiration all over social media. With well known fish and unusual varieties alike, National Seafood Week (9th-16th October) has brought out some mouthwatering seafood inspiration whether you like to eat in or dine out. For those who fancy someone else doing the dishes, Yo! Sushi is the perfect place to try out some inspiring Japanese style combinations. With almost 40 seafood dishes to try, I went along this week to indulge in their newest plates, as well as a few firm favourites.


rome: my little foodie city guide.


As the saying goes, when in Rome... eat all the Italian food. So that's exactly what I did. During a three night stay at the 5* Baglioni Hotel Regina, I ate my way through the cobbled streets of the old town of Trastevere on a fantastic Rome foodie tour and dined in the fancy Ristorante Ad Hoc, famed for its luxury truffle offerings. I may not have been there for long, but I certainly ate a lot. Here are my Rome restaurant recommendations that I discovered along the way...


Thursday, 15 October 2015

#onkentips.


Dips, dollops and swirls of inspiration. Onken have taken to Instagram for some fantastic recipes ideas using their Onken yogurt. From baking to breakfast and dinner to dessert, you'll find a whole host of great inspo over on their newly launched recipe book - with #OnkenTips along the way!

Wednesday, 14 October 2015

battenberg macarons.


What happens when you've already made Bakewell tart macarons? You try out baking Battenberg ones, of course. I just can't get enough of the deliciously almondy taste you find in such recipes. The recipe is made with French meringue, coloured the signature dessert colour and filled with almond infused buttercream. And so in all their pink and yellow glory, I present to you...  Battenberg macarons. 


Monday, 12 October 2015

the latest additions at wagamama.


It's no secret I love Japanese food. Time and time again I return to old faithful wagamama for my favourite Ebi Raisukaree; a fragrantly spiced prawn curry which I've tried to recreate at home. I was invited by my local wagamama to come down and try the new menu additions. Weeks ahead, I already had my eye on the toasted sesame mochi for dessert.



Friday, 9 October 2015

baglioni hotel regina, rome, italy.


Baglioni Hotel Regina is a 5 star hotel in Rome, nearby the Spanish Stairs and the Trevi Fountain. It's located in a rather swish area of the Italian city, Via Veneto, known for boutique shopping and luxury brands. A short walk away from the Spagna Metro station, you'll find the beautiful stone building with a grand entrance, black wrought iron iron detailing and well kept flower boxes. The perfect mix of grandeur, luxury and a touch of Italy.



Thursday, 8 October 2015

jus create with jus rol.


I'll be the first to admit that I've never made my own puff pastry. And if you have, I commend you. Time and time again, the likes of Jus Rol or supermarket alternatives have come to my pastry related rescue. I have no problem getting involved with my old friend shortcrust, especially if I want to add crushed pistachios or chocolate to the mixture, or try my hand at vegan and gluten free pastry. 


But if I'm looking for a quick fix for a weeknight recipe or maybe something special, I'm not ashamed to roll out the ready made and get creative. I went along to Ateliers des Chefs for an evening of pastry tips, tricks and most importantly... tasting. Our hosts for the evening were professional chefs Mark Dodson and Sally Abe who were taking on the philosophy - jus create!

Tuesday, 6 October 2015

paneer and pilau fritters with veetee rice.

Paneer Pilau Rice Fritters Recipe
Indian Snacks Recipes

These paneer and pilau rice fritters make for the perfect Indian inspired starter, snack or even as Asian style tapas. I've teamed up with Veetee rice to great creative in the kitchen, featuring their super convenient rice flavours as the star ingredient. Made from pilau rice, scatterings of paneer and peas, they're so simple to make, easy to adjust spice levels and are vegetarian and gluten free too. I've teamed the crunchy fritters with a cool and zesty lemon, mint and yogurt dip - with the fresh flavours bringing out the warm Indian spices.


Veetee Rice Recipes

Monday, 5 October 2015

the roman foodie: rome food tours.

The Roman Guy Food Tour
Rome Food Tour

During my recent trip to Rome, I was invited along on one of the foodie tours ran by The Roman Foodie and The Roman Guy. There I was, taking to Twitter to share the excitement about my upcoming break, when the lovely lot asked if I'd like to give their local Roman experience a go. Naturally, I accepted the challenge. Who wouldn't want to go on a restaurant crawl around a beautiful Italian city? I hope you aren't hungry, because this post will make you want to book a flight to Rome. Or at the very least, order a pizza.

Eating Out in Rome

Friday, 2 October 2015

the farmhouse, mackworth, derby.

The Farmhouse Mackworth Restaurant Review

Just a ten minute drive from Derby city, you'll find an 18th Century farmhouse serving up 21st Century cuisine. With a contemporary menu and wood fired pizza oven, you can join the friendly lot at The Farmhouse for breakfast, dinner or Sunday lunch. I went along with my grandparents, who live in Mackworth, for a weekend lunch. My grandpa remembers the pub as his local many years ago, so was looking forward to seeing the transformation.


The Farmhouse Mackworth Starters
The Farmhouse Mackworth Desserts