Tuesday, 29 December 2015

11 party recipes to impress your guests on new year's eve.


Looking for New Year's Eve party food inspiration? Take a look through these mouthwatering recipes to impress those guests. From cocktails to canapés, discover something to suit all your party guests tastes. Or if you're seeing in 2016 with a quiet night in, what better excuse to make yourself up a feast to enjoy with a cold glass of fizz? Cheers!

Sunday, 27 December 2015

smoked salmon and cucumber canapés.

Salmon Canapes

Hope you're all enjoying the festive season and had a wonderful Christmas! With 2015 coming to an end and 2016 just around the corner, I've put together a super simple canapé recipe to impress your guests! This smoked salmon and cucumber canapé with lemon and dill crème fraîche takes just minutes to put together and seconds to devour. Perfect for nibbles at New Year's Eve parties, just get that fizz chilling and pop on your favourite party dress! 

New Years Eve Party Recipes
Salmon Cucumber Canape Recipes

Friday, 25 December 2015

merry christmas!

Merry Christmas - Emily'\s Recipes and Reviews

Merry Christmas from Recipes and Reviews! May your Christmas dinner be delicious and your wine be topped up dutifully! After your Brussels sprout and pigs in blankets hangover, come back and see what I have in store for New Year and 2016. Including a little birthday just around the corner... 

Have a lovely day! (I'll look out for your shiny new kitchen gadgets over on Instagram!)

Emily xx

Wednesday, 23 December 2015

foodie christmas traditions.


Just like any season, with Christmas comes with annual traditions with family and friends. From gingerbread houses and festive bakes to special breakfasts and fusion feasts from around the world, I've put together a few little anecdotes from my fellow food bloggers on how they spend their Christmas break. For the last few December 25th mornings, I've put together a breakfast of
lazy eggs for all the family. So simple but perfect to keep that hunger at bay whilst the house filled up with mouthwatering scents of Christmas dinner.


Sunday, 20 December 2015

#fdbloggers secret santa.


Christmas has to be one of the favourites seasons of a food blogger. Food everywhere, cheese boards a plenty and edible gifts for all! Over with the fellow #fdbloggers on Twitter, we've been doing our own secret Santa gift swap. Exchanging gifts with foodies from all around the UK and Ireland, you can head over to the hashtag #fdbloggerssanta to see an array of super thoughtful foodie packed parcels from a mystery Santa. Here what I got from Sal... I mean, Santa...

Friday, 18 December 2015

no bake christmas crispies.


A fun, festive Christmas recipe - with no baking required! Simply melt together your ingredients and scatter with festive cheer for this Christmas twist on your favourite rice crispie bars. These would be perfect to make with kids, newbie bakers and for any last minute office bakes too! Here's how I made them...


Wednesday, 16 December 2015

jim's smokehouse, nottingham.

Jim's Smokehouse Nottingham
Jim's Smokehouse Nottingham Review

In Nottingham's creative quarter of Hockley, you'll find Jim's Smokehouse. It's a cool and quirky establishment, serving up low and slow cooked meats alongside a US style menu. From larger than life burgers to stomach-busting platters, here you'll find all the American classics and more. With a Man vs. Food attitude, you'd struggle to leave hungry. 

Jim's Smokehouse Nottingham Restaurant

Monday, 14 December 2015

christmas pudding macarons.

Christmas Macaron Recipe

Ho ho ho - Merry Christmas! Although it wouldn't be December without having a go at some festive macarons would it? This month I've got in the holiday spirit with a Christmas pudding macaron recipe! Since I'm not a fan of fruit cake myself, these little treats have been made with a cocoa based meringue and filled with Nutella chocolate spread, topped with icing sugar and marzipan holly. 

Christmas Macarons
Christmas Pudding Macaron Recipe

Friday, 11 December 2015

muga ramen dining & bar, london.

Muga Ramen Bar London

MUGA is a stylish, contemporary ramen bar found just a short walk from Piccadilly Circus. This modern London establishment serves up authentic ramen, your way, with a minimalist menu and interiors to match. Whether you're mad about miso or have a yearning for yasai, you simply pick your noodles and add on any extras depending how hungry/greedy you're feeling that day. 

Muga Ramen
Muga Ramen Bar Menu

Wednesday, 9 December 2015

pumpkin, cheddar and sage soup with parmesan crisps.


Pumpkin Soup Recipes

A creamy and delicious seasonal soup made from sweet pumpkin, indulgent cheddar and a hint of fragrant sage. Make ahead and serve with nutty pumpkin seeds and a parmesan crisp for the perfect Autumn Winter starter. After Halloween and Thanksgiving, why should the pumpkin recipes stop there? This is one to enjoy all season!

Pumpkin Soup
Pumpkin Cheddar Soup Recipe

Tuesday, 8 December 2015

what to buy a foodie for christmas...

Foodie Christmas Gift Guide 2015

What to buy a food blogger for Christmas... when they already own 50, 000 aprons, a cupboard full of baking beans and a stack of tea towels to the ceiling. Don't get me wrong - I love all the foodie gifts I get each birthday and Christmas, this year receiving a rather wonderful selection of teaspoons, a teapot, macaron print scales, a chocolate cookery book, a knife sharpener and even some Bakewell tart green tea. All very well thought out gifts which I was overwhelmed and super grateful for. However, if you're struggling to think outside the box and you're about to click "add to bag" on that spice rack - here are a few foodie gift ideas to tickle your tastebuds.


Monday, 7 December 2015

thornton hall hotel and spa, the wirral.

Thornton Hall Spa Hotel Review

Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa is a luxury hotel retreat found in The Wirral. Despite the impressive 62 bedrooms, a grand entrance hall, restaurant and bar, plus two spas, the hotel itself maintains an intimate, boutique feel. I travelled North West for a weekend away, where I enjoyed their A Little Luxury stay and spa package and dined in The Lawns restaurant.

Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall  The Wirral Review

Friday, 4 December 2015

christmas vegetarian bake with a brie mash topping.

Christmas Vegetarian Recipes
Christmas Veggie Bake

A festive, vegetarian alternative to Christmas dinner. This veggie bake is made up of a Brussels sprout, quinoa and chestnut mix, topped with creamy Brie mash and jewelled with dried cranberries. Forget nut roast, this Christmas veggie recipe (which is also gluten free) has a rich vegetable and grain base with an indulgent topping. If anything, you must try this cheesy Brie mash recipe as a festive side dish!

I've put together this recipe as part of Central England Co-operative’s Christmas campaign - find more recipes from fellow food bloggers on the hashtag #cooptreats!


Wednesday, 2 December 2015

one aldwych, london.

One Aldwych Review

One Aldwych is a five star hotel found nearby Covent Garden and The Strand. Built in the early 1900s, the impressive building has been described as a combination of Edwardian grandeur and Parisian elegance. These days the luxury hotel retains its original charm whilst bringing an up-to-date experience to travellers from London and beyond.

One Aldwych London Review
One Aldwych Hotel Review