Wednesday, 16 August 2017

an instagram masterclass for foodies.


People who love to eat are always the best people. If they love to take a photograph and share it on their Instagram, ever better. I love hearing about new foodie discoveries, scrolling through my Instagram feed and imagining what the dishes taste like. If you've got this far, I imagine you do too. As part of the Highcross #FoodFest this Summer, I was invited to host an Instagram workshop for local foodies. With a supper club vibe, we enjoyed dining at Turtle Bay whilst I'd shared my best tips and tricks on photo editing, hashtags, social sharing and building your audience.

Monday, 14 August 2017

the best afternoon tea around the uk: food blogger favourites.

 

Happy Afternoon Tea Week! Other than gin week or cheeseburger day, this has to be up there on one of the best national foodie weeks in the UK. What better excuse to scoff sandwiches, drool over pastries and eat every miniature cake in sight? Sipping on tea makes it all that more sophisticated too, don't you think? 

To celebrate these prestigious seven days, I've asked a few of my favourite British food bloggers to throw me some afternoon tea recommendations and reviews from around the UK. (And pictures, of course!) So, from traditional afternoon teas to twists on the classic, here are (quite possibly) the best afternoon teas in the UK. Cheers, darling!


Friday, 11 August 2017

chimasu: asian snacks by post + giveaway.


Love looking around Asian supermarkets? Obsess over unusual snacks? Have a sweet tooth for all things South-East Asian? Me too. Colourful packaging, cute logos and quirky flavours have me scanning the aisles of supermarkets for my new favourite thing. When Chimasu got in touch asking if I wanted to review the July box - I couldn't wait to try out some new treats. Even better, they'll be sending out a box to one of my readers too. So, what was in the box?

Wednesday, 9 August 2017

chocolate bear macarons: going on a bear hunt with ready brek.


"We're going on a bear hunt... We're going to catch a big one... What a beautiful day! We're not scared... "

Who remembers that lovely poem from Michael Rosen? I actually can't believe it's 28 years old this year (almost as old as me...) And what a perfect fit for the rebrand of our well-loved porridge treat, Ready Brek. Now with a cute bear on the front of their infamous red packaging, but still the same yummy flavours and nutrients, the illustration was the perfect inspiration behind my latest bear macaron recipe. These macarons are filled with a delicious milk chocolate filling and decorated with edible paint. Let's go...


Friday, 4 August 2017

farewell feasts at maiyango, leicester.


After many years, Leicestershire renowned Maiyango is closing its doors for an exciting new foodie venture for 2017. To say a foodie farewell, the St Nicholas based restaurant put on a variety of taster menus, as well as wine pairing, cocktail and gin nights. I went along to sample the dishes they're most proud of, the best of the best, if you will. Apart from work parties, I actually hadn't had the chance to dine from their full menu, so this seemed like a fitting way to round off an institution.


Monday, 31 July 2017

convenient veggie meals with goodlife.


Looking to get more veggies into your diet but are always on the go? Perhaps you want to try out more vegetarian meals but don't know where to start? Want ideas for 5:2 meals? Having really enjoyed the GoodLife vegetarian sausages, kievs and falafels, I couldn't wait to try out the newest additions to the range. Coming in at under 300 calories and towards three of your five a day, these tasty meals are perfect for stocking up your trusty freezer with go-to healthy meals.


Wednesday, 26 July 2017

vegan piña colada style smoothie.

Vegan dairy free smoothie recipe

Combining fruity flavours inspired by the Piña Colada cocktail, this tropical inspired drink features creamy coconut milk, wholesome banana and tangy pineapple juice to create a refreshing Summer treat. Simply whizz up the ingredients to create this dairy free, gluten free non-alcoholic Piña Colada style smoothie which goes towards your five a day. I've teamed up with the lovely lot at Wayfair to bring you a bright and bold smoothie idea, featuring their quirky mason jar glasses and rustic wooden holder. 

Vegan smoothie recipe
Vegan smoothie recipe

Monday, 24 July 2017

get cooking this summer with iceland's barbecue range.

Iceland barbecue range
Iceland barbecue 2017

Summer is in full swing and that can only mean one thing... barbecue season! Come rain or shine, us Brits love an excuse to dine al fresco with friends and family. But with such unpredictable weather, a downpour on a Wednesday can turn into sudden sunny skies by the weekend.

This is where the #PowerOfFrozen can really help you out. With a fantastic barbecue range for 2017, Iceland can see you stock up on delicious BBQ essentials to keep in the freezer ready for sunny spells and tropical heatwaves. An impromptu garden party or heatwave on the horizon? Simply defrost your favourite and fire up the BBQ for a delicious outdoor feast. Scroll on to see what I thought of the latest range... (sunshine optional)

Iceland barbecue
Iceland barbecue Summer range 2017

Sunday, 23 July 2017

recipes to finally try now love island is over.


Love Island 2017, what a rollercoaster it has been. Aside from hundreds of foodie snaps, favourite new recipes and restaurant recommendations, my Twitter feed has been rather full of the latest Love Island gossip. And, I'm not complaining. If 9-10pm on ITV was a restaurant I'd be leaving a pretty hefty tip for services to my weeknight entertainment. But, as Monday 24th July will now forever be known as the Love Island finale day, what are we going to do with ourselves 9-10pm every night, or even on Sunday, without a double hit of After Sun?

Foodies, have no fear, I've compiled a list featuring some of my favourite blogs (and fellow Love Island fans) of recipes to fill that free hour you're now not glued to ITV2. 


Wednesday, 19 July 2017

parma ham, ricotta and basil bruschetta.

Parma ham recipes

Deliciously decadent Parma ham, on a bruschetta with a twist. Served on toasted bread, this take on the Italian classic is smothered with creamy ricotta cheese and fresh basil, before being finished with ribbons of inviting prosciutto di Parma.

Established for centuries, there are many elements that go into the production of prosciutto di Parma. The Parma region of Italy has the perfect conditions for creating this delicious ham, with the hanging, drying and curing taken very seriously to create its unparalleled sweetness. Provenance is key, with the famous 5 point Ducal Crown fire brand certifying its authenticity of Parma origin. The mouthwatering product, in my opinion, can be best enjoyed in the easiest of ways, to really appreciate the flavour and quality. Hopefully this simple, Italian inspired recipe does just that.

Parma ham recipes UK
Parma ham ricotta basil recipes

Friday, 14 July 2017

celebrating christmas in july with iceland.


Christmas... not the first word that springs to mind in the middle of Summer. But a great festive feast can take time; with all that planning behind the canapés, starters, mains, desserts and of course the ultimate cheeseboard. But who knew your freezer could be your best friend for a bountiful Christmas banquet? Embracing the #PowerofFrozen, well loved British supermarket Iceland invited me to sample their seasonal delights ahead of that all important December 25th. 


Wednesday, 12 July 2017

9 winning recipes for wimbledon.


Be winning at Wimbledon with these tasty picks for the British Summer of sport. From nostaglic strawberries and cream to that familiar sip of classic Pimms, I've rounded up a few of my favourite food blogger recipes you will absolutely 30-love. Whoever knew tennis could be so tasty? Without further ado let's serve up these recipes... game, set, match!

Monday, 3 July 2017

strawberries and cream macarons.

Wimbledon recipes

Game, set, match! It's that time of year where we use tennis as an excuse to drink overflowing jugs of Pimms, pack up a picnic of posh sandwiches and of course... strawberries and cream. Just me? With Wimbledon 2017 starting this week, I've put together some strawberries and cream macarons inspired by the popular Summer sweet treat. These macarons are made with a red and white marble effect meringue shell before being finished with a vanilla and strawberry jam buttercream filling. 

Strawberry and cream Wimbledon recipes
Strawberry and cream macarons

Friday, 30 June 2017

a look at miller & carter in enderby + an instagram giveaway!


The newest Miller & Carter to the Leicestershire suburbs, this well-known steakhouse has found itself in Enderby. Previously housing a Toby Carvery, the restaurant has been brilliantly refurbished and is now beyond recognisable as the same venue. A real turnaround, the quality of food included. With the classic Miller & Carter vibe of dark furniture, mellow lighting and quirky cow inspired prints, the restaurant has a sleek finish and a rather fancy menu to boot.



Thursday, 29 June 2017

pan fried lamb steaks with rosemary & mint butter and cous cous.


Founded in the beautiful region of Tuscany, Bertolli pride themselves on their love of authentic Italian cooking and great quality ingredients. Their latest addition, Bertolli with Butter and Olive Oil, is a rich blend of butter and specially selected olive oil. From everyday cooks to seasoned chefs, the new addition to the Bertolli family is the ideal fridge staple. 

The high burn point makes it perfect for pan frying and making sauces - however you prefer to get creative in the kitchen! The versatile butter block gives the subtle taste of butter whilst being able to withstand hot temperatures without burning. So I put it to the test with a recipe which combines all of these – pan fried lamb leg steaks, buttery vegetable cous cous and a homemade fresh mint and rosemary butter to finish. So how did I get on


Tuesday, 27 June 2017

the ultimate homemade fish finger sandwich (probably).

ultimate homemade fish finger sandwich recipe

Like lots of timeless dishes, the perfect fish finger sandwich recipe is a rather subjective thing. Mushy peas or not? Tartare sauce, mayonnaise or tomato ketchup? Cod or haddock? Breaded or battered? And speaking of bread, are we talking cobs, baps or a couple of slices of classic white bread? The possibilities are endless. I even noticed the topic came up on Channel 4's Sunday Brunch last weekend, where Simon Rimmer created a delicious looking sarnie indeed.

Although it'll always be a work in progress, this is my take on the ultimate homemade fish finger sandwich (if I say so myself). The best part is that the breaded cod fish fingers are baked, making them a little healthier, and the rustic Actifry chips are Slimming World friendly too.


Friday, 23 June 2017

celebrating the new vegetarian society approved vegan trademark at their cookery school.


From fancy filo desserts to a decadent dairy free chocolate cake, a couple of weeks ago I went along to The Vegetarian Society near Manchester to swot up on the basics of vegan cookery. The occasion? The Vegetarian Society are celebrating this Summer's launch of the official Vegetarian Society Approved vegan trademark to help shoppers navigate the shelves for their plant-based favourites.

Established in 1847, the charity are dedicated to helping those who want to embrace a meat-free lifestyle, and help those that are already vegetarian or vegan. The recognised Vegetarian Society Approved vegetarian trademark is a smart way of helping veggies to rest assured that the product has met their criteria.

Now as many vegetarians turn to a dairy and egg free diet, the fancy new trademark can help newby vegans (and perhaps old school veggies) have peace-of-mind that products are 100% vegan. Since there are print runs to wait for on large scale packaging it'll take a while, but you'll soon be spotting them on your favourite vegan brands!


It couldn't have been a better way to celebrate - thoroughly enjoying my day with some likeminded bloggers and learning lots of vegan cooking and baking skills along the way!

Monday, 19 June 2017

mini salmon tartlets: celebrating national picnic week 2017 with wayfair.


Happy National Picnic Week! And what a lovely week for it too. With an absolute scorcher this weekend, let's hope this is the official start of Summer now! (Please?) I've teamed up with Wayfair to showcase one of their beautiful picnic baskets with a light and summery mini salmon quiche recipe. 

Perfect for picnics, these pocket-sized snacks are delicious on-the-go, as well as alfresco dining in the garden. The buttery tart pastry is filled with lightly cooked salmon and fresh dill to create a bitesize favourite that the family with love.