Friday, 23 June 2017

celebrating the new vegetarian society approved vegan trademark at their cookery school.


From fancy filo desserts to a decadent dairy free chocolate cake, a couple of weeks ago I went along to The Vegetarian Society near Manchester to swot up on the basics of vegan cookery. The occasion? The Vegetarian Society are celebrating this Summer's launch of the official Vegetarian Society Approved vegan trademark to help shoppers navigate the shelves for their plant-based favourites.

Established in 1847, the charity are dedicated to helping those who want to embrace a meat-free lifestyle, and help those that are already vegetarian or vegan. The recognised trademark is a smart way of helping veggies spot that all important green tick to rest assured that the product has The Vegetarian Society seal of approval. Now as many vegetarians turn to a dairy and egg free diet, the fancy new green logo can help newby vegans (and perhaps old school veggies) have peace-of-mind that products are 100% vegan. Since there are print runs to wait for on large scale packaging it'll take a while, but you'll soon be spotting them on your favourite vegan brands!


It couldn't have been a better way to celebrate - thoroughly enjoying my day with some likeminded bloggers and learning lots of vegan cooking and baking skills along the way!

Monday, 19 June 2017

mini salmon tartlets: celebrating national picnic week 2017 with wayfair.


Happy National Picnic Week! And what a lovely week for it too. With an absolute scorcher this weekend, let's hope this is the official start of Summer now! (Please?) I've teamed up with Wayfair to showcase one of their beautiful picnic baskets with a light and summery mini salmon quiche recipe. 

Perfect for picnics, these pocket-sized snacks are delicious on-the-go, as well as alfresco dining in the garden. The buttery tart pastry is filled with lightly cooked salmon and fresh dill to create a bitesize favourite that the family with love.


Friday, 16 June 2017

enjoy the luxury of a private chef in your home with la belle assiette.


La Belle Assiette is the latest way to enjoy a private chef in your home. Whether you fancy a three course dinner with friends, an elaborate afternoon tea or a posh Champagne breakfast to celebrate a special occasion, the simply to use service means you can look for luxury chef experiences in your area at the click of a button. Enter your postcode, budget and favourite cuisine to book online for a private chef in your area - and ta da! To celebrate the new Leicestershire recruit Liz Moore, she came along to my home to cook a beautiful six course meal to showcase her culinary magic.


Wednesday, 14 June 2017

slow cooked coca cola beef brisket burgers.

Beef brisket burger

Is Summer finally here? Whether you're dusting off the BBQ, love to dine al fresco or are planning a garden party. this slow cooked pulled beef brisket is a must-try in your burger. I know the whole fizzy drinks with slow cooked meat recipes has been done a few times now - think everything from Dr Pepper to Ginger Beer - but I thought I'd give my own recipe a whirl! The sweet and stickiness from the classic Coca Cola (no diet here!) adds to the kick of chilli and smoked paprika. Enjoy the super easy six hour slow cooked beef brisket between a soft brioche bun with your favourite condiments!

Slow cooked beef brisket burger
Beef brisket burger recipes

Monday, 12 June 2017

fishmore hall, ludlow.


In a stunning Shropshire setting, you'll find Fishmore Hall nestled in the counryside, just a short walk from Ludlow. The grand, yet quaint, white building has a welcoming entrance and even more welcoming staff. Myself and a girl friend went along a couple of weeks ago to enjoy the seasonal menu and luxury bedrooms as well as make use of the spa and potter around the local village.



Friday, 9 June 2017

white chocolate & pecan cookies.


There's nothing quite like freshly baked cookies, all chewy, warm and ever so slightly crunchy. These white chocolate and pecan cookies are no different. Taking on sugary candied pecans, creamy white chocolate and a hit of sea salt on a classic cookie recipe base, these are a real winner for anyone with a sweet tooth. And they don't take long to make either...


Friday, 2 June 2017

sesame and ginger salmon with an avocado, beetroot and edamame salad.


A colourful salad recipe for seafood lovers. The nutty and fragrant sesame salmon fillet is served with a rainbow of beetroot, avocado, green beans, asparagus, edamame beans and a lime and soy sauce dressing. Packed full of protein and nutrients, this gluten free and dairy free recipe goes towards your five a day.


Wednesday, 31 May 2017

diy wedding macaron favours.

Wedding macaron recipe
Wedding favour macaron recipe

Whether you're planning a wedding or an invite has dropped through your letterbox, there's no doubt macarons make the perfect homemade present or DIY favour idea. I made these pretty pink and gold macarons for a friends' wedding gift this Spring! So, I thought I'd share the recipe for those looking for little bit of wed-spo (is that a word now?) or maybe even a treat for the hen do.

Wedding favour macarons recipe
Wedding favour macarons DIY

Monday, 22 May 2017

ethan's teppanyaki, sushi and japanese steak house, lincoln.

Ethans Lincoln sushi

Found along the A46, around five miles from Lincoln, Ethan's is a newly opened Japanese steakhouse featuring everything from sushi bites to teppanyaki showcases. In a rather unusual location, ran by the popular Damon's Motel and American style restaurant, Ethan's is proud to serve up authentic (and a few more contemporary) dishes from a host of skilled chefs.

Ethans Lincoln teppanyaki
Ethans Lincoln review

Friday, 12 May 2017

meltin grilled cheese: mouthwatering artisan cheese sandwiches in the midlands.


Melted grilled cheese oozing between a couple of slices of great quality bread. Sounds good, right? It's almost impossible to say no to a cheese toastie. Switch up the flavours, create some delicious combinations that complement a whole host of cheese varieties... and that's what Meltin Grilled Cheese do.


Based in the East Midlands, Meltin are touring the counties in their rice truck, one grilled cheese sandwich at a time. I went along to their recent Derbyshire launch, to same the latest flavour combinations as well as their heavenly mobile raclette grill. For the purposes of reviewing, of course.



Monday, 8 May 2017

healthy gluten free brownies with comvita manuka honey.

Manuka honey brownies

A guilt free brownie? Could it be true? Enriched with Manuka honey, coconut oil and coconut flour, these refined sugar free and gluten free brownies are anything but boring. Fudgey, moist and deliciously chocolately, this brownie recipe is rather nice without being too naughty. Created by and featuring Comvita Manuka Honey, this recipe means you can rustle up a warm batch of gluten free, naturally sweetened brownies in around thirty minutes. Customise as you wish with your favourite toppings (almonds for me!) to create the ultimate brownie recipe. Yum!

Gluten free brownies
Gluten free sugar free brownies

Wednesday, 3 May 2017

unicorn macarons.


The magical, mystical world of unicorn recipes! If you haven't seen a rainbow coloured, sprinkle stuffed, glittery recipe in the last few months then what have you been doing? For a mythical creature, the unicorn is anything but invisible right now and I just had to get involved with this fun new trend in the form of unicorn macarons. Because when did rainbows and sugar and sprinkles not manage to make someone smile? I made these for one of my bestie's birthday parties - with a lovely lemon buttercream filling, a marbled macaron effect and of course a sprinkle of glitter!


Friday, 21 April 2017

earl grey g&t cockail.

Earl Grey cocktails

They always do say you turn into your parents eventually. My mum and I both love a pot of Earl Grey when we go for afternoon tea, and we're partial to the odd gin and tonic too. So in celebration of World Gin Day on June 10th, this cocktail is an ode to the favourite women in my life. Taking inspiration from the classic way to drink Earl Grey tea with lemon, I've added a cheeky kick in the form of gin to create this afternoon tea style cocktail. Of course served in your best china... Pinkies up!

Earl Grey gin cocktail recipe
Earl Grey lemon gin cocktails

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

goat's cheese, aubergine & spinach lasagne.


A super cheesy vegetarian lasagne featuring the lovely goat's products from St. Helen's Farm. Goat's cheese lovers will enjoy the combination with roasted aubergine and wilted spinach. Diners who avoid cow dairy will be a fan because - there's none of that here! Layers of roasted vegetables, a creamy goat's cheese sauce and extra cheese on top for good measure make this a weekend treat or make-ahead meal.



Friday, 7 April 2017

everdine £30 discount code and free delivery: convenient clean eats from everdine uk.


Everdine discount code
Everdine meal box review

Make clean eating easy with Everdine, the newest UK meal delivery service that mixes balance, wholesome meals with convenience. With natural ingredients and meals that often go towards your five a day and daily nutritional needs, Everdine prides itself on gourmet eats that taste like treats. Embracing the power of nature's own preservative - ice - your meal selections come frozen in carefully packed boxes so you can eat your meals on days to suit you. So no worries if you order the eight meal box, you don't have to eat them within eight days.


I tried out the eight classic meal box, coming in at the new reduced price of £55.20 (£6.90 a meal). Exciting news though - the lovely Everdine lot have provided me an exclusive promotional code so that you can get £30 discount off your first box. Valid June 2017 onwards, use the coupon code AF1EMILY to get £30 off your first UK order, which always includes free delivery. Scroll down to find out more about the giveaway too...